Gordon Lightfoot

Gordon Lightfoot is a Canadian singer and songwriter born in Orillia, Canada on November 17, 1938. He is credited for playing a role in defining the folk-pop sound in the 1960s and 1970s. Lightfoot is known internationally as a folk-rock legend and considered to be one of Canada’s greatest songwriters of all time. He is best known for his songs “Early Morning Rain”, “For Lovin’ Me”, “Steel Rail Blues”, “Black Day in July”, and “Ribbon of Darkness.” In 1965 he signed a recording contract with United Artists and in 1966 he released his debut studio album Lightfoot!. He has since released numerous albums, including The Way I Feel, Back Here on Earth, Summer Side of Life, Sundown, Cold on the Shoulder, Endless Wire, Summertime Dream, Shadows, Salute, Dream Street Rose, Harmony, Waiting for You and more. Lightfoot has released 19 studio albums, 16 compilation albums, and 3 live albums. Several of his albums were certified gold and multi-platinum around the world. His songs have been recorded by many well known artists, including Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis, Neil Young, Elvis Presley, Hank Williams Jr., Eric Clapton and others. In 1997 he was bestowed the Governor General’s Performing Arts Award and in 2012 he was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Related posts

Leave a Comment